Finalists revealed for Your Harrogate's Local Hero Awards 2023

The finalists have been revealed for the second ever Your Harrogate Local Hero Awards, sponsored by Vida Healthcare and O’Connor Chiropractic.

The Local Hero Awards aim to recognise and celebrate extraordinary people across the Harrogate district for amazing acts of bravery, selflessness and the inspiration they provide for others.

We asked for nominations for people that are deserving of recognition ahead of the event at Rudding Park on Friday 3rd November.

And after much deliberation, our judges have whittled each category down to a shortlist of three people.

Here are your shortlisted finalists across ten categories for the Your Harrogate Local Hero Awards 2023:

Teacher of the Year – sponsored by Mama Doreen’s

  • Sheena Blake (Western Primary School)
  • Laura-Mae Gregory (North Stainley Primary School)
  • Alison Turner (Brackenfield School)

Employer of the Year – sponsored by Mulgrave Properties

  • Mint Velvet
  • Liz Cluderay (Artizan Café)
  • Debbie Daniels (Harcourt Gardens)

Sporting Achievement of the Year – sponsored by

  • Isaac Henson (Athletics)
  • Millie Bell (Swimming)
  • Jeremie Maillard (Running)

Lifetime Achievement – sponsored by Redline Specialist Cars

  • Susan Vasey (Chain Lane Community Hub)
  • Chris Dixon (Killinghall Nomads)
  • Anne Smith (Harrogate Civic Society)

Parent/Guardian of the Year – sponsored by Fostering North Yorkshire

  • Alison Bishop
  • Sherrie Thomas
  • Kate Felgate

Emergency Services Award – sponsored by Lauren Doherty BEM

  • Kevin Mann (Fire & Rescue Service)
  • Ben Cairns (Fire & Rescue Service)
  • A&E at Harrogate Hospital

Volunteer of the Year – sponsored by Simon Graeme Auto Service Centre

  • Julie Bradbury-Sharp (Knot Another Choir)
  • John Reeves (Henshaws Arts & Crafts Centre)
  • Mark Oldfield (Harrogate Hospital Radio)

Bravery Award – sponsored by Harrogate Spring Water

  • James Warburton 
  • Elina Kyrycvhok 
  • Helen Cromarty 

Child of Courage – sponsored by David Lloyd Clubs Harrogate

  • Lucy Sturley
  • Russell Atkinson
  • Emily Clarkson

Charity Fundraiser of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate Neighbours

  • James and Cameron Love
  • Lorraine Bradley
  • Issy Rowe

Congratulations to all of our finalists!